Grand National Key Trends

Day 1: Grand National Thursday | Day 2: Ladies Day | Day 3: Grand National Day | Grand National Betting

What Grand National history tells us – the 10-year trends

There are certain trends that are infallible it seems when looking at the previous winners of the Grand National in the last decade.

Here are a list of statistics that are true of each of the last 10 Grand National winners.

Aged between eight and 11

Ran over a distance of 3m1f or further previously

Find a horse among the Grand National entries which ticks these boxes and the omens are strong regarding its chance of securing victory.

Previous Grand National champions – the last 28 years

Dig back a bit further into Grand National history to consider the results of the last 28 years and some other statistics are more common among previous winners.

There is no single trend adhered to by all 28 previous champions, but some trends are more noteworthy than others. Here are the ones that we thought were the most interesting:

25 of the last 28 winners had won a maximum of six times over fences previously

22 of the last 28 winners carried no more than 10-13 in weight

Six of the last 28 winners won their last race before the Grand National

Grand National jockey trends to watch

Before last year, the last time in Grand National history that three female jockeys lined up in the race was back in 1988 and none of that trio managed to complete the course.

It looks more promising that at least one of the three Grand National female jockeys taking part in 2019 will cross the finishing line.

Lizzie Kelly should ride Tea For Two, while Bryony Frost could partner one of the Paul Nicholls horses on which she made her name, Black Corton, and Rachael Blackmore will likely be in demand for one of the legions of runners expected from regular employers Gigginstown House Stud, owners of two of the last three winners.

Frost has already shown an aptitude for steering a horse over the Grand National fences, having finished fifth aboard Milansbar in 2018.

Keep an eye out for the mount of Leighton Aspell in the Grand National 2019 betting – he won the race two years running in 2014 and 2015 on Pineau De Re and the legendary Many Clouds respectively.

Racecard numbers and previous Grand National winners

The Grand National is usually run with a full 40-runner field. Since the year 2000, certain trends have developed related to which racecard number horses are assigned.

For example, number 31 has failed to finish every Grand National since 2007, a run which includes five falls in the last 11 years.

Luckier is number 29, which has been the winner of two of the previous five Grand Nationals. Pineau De Re wore number 29 in 2014 and so did Rule The World in 2016.

The number that is potentially most due a win based on Grand National history is number 27, which has finished second four times since 2000.

Who are the last 10 Grand National winners?

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Age Weight Odds
2018 Tiger Roll Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 8 10st 13lbs 10/1
2017 One For Arthur Derek Fox Lucinda Russell 8 10st 11lbs 14/1
2016 Rule The World Danny Mullins Mouse Morris 9 10st 7lbs 33/1
2015 Many Clouds Leighton Aspell Oliver Sherwood 8 11st 9lbs 25/1
2014 Pineau De Re Leighton Aspell Dr Richard Newland 11 10st 6lbs 25/1
2013 Auroras Encore Ryan Mania Sue Smith 11 10st 3lbs 66/1
2012 Neptune Collonges Daryl Jacob Paul Nicholls 11 11st 6lbs 33/1
2011 Ballabriggs Jason Maguire Donald McCain 10 11st 14/1
2010 Don�t Push It AP McCoy Jonjo O�Neill 10 11st 5lbs 10/1
2009 Mon Mome Liam Treadwell Venetia Williams 9 11st 100/1